Top Image Mesa County Home
Sales Tax  

Mesa County’s sales tax rate (for areas outside of our cities and towns) is 2%. That means two cents per $1.00 in retail sales is collected as a county tax. This tax was approved by local voters in 1981. Specifically, voters designated where this money should be spent. Here’s a breakdown of how that two cents is allocated:

  • One cent is dedicated to capital and infrastructure improvements.
  • .55 cents is distributed to the cities and towns within the county.
  • .45 cents is dedicated to the county’s general fund.

In addition to the 2% county tax, the State of Colorado also has a 2.9% sales tax. Thus, unincorporated areas of Mesa County have a combined sales tax rate of 4.9%.

The cities and towns in Mesa County each have their own municipal sales tax, which is added on top of the 2% county tax:

Municipality   City/Town Sales Tax   County Sales Tax   State Sales Tax   TOTAL SALES TAX
(paid on purchases within this municipality)
Grand Junction 2.75% 2% 2.9% 7.65%
Fruita 3% 2% 2.9% 7.9%
Palisade 2% 2% 2.9% 6.9%
Collbran 2% 2% 2.9% 6.9%
DeBeque 2% 2% 2.9% 6.9%

For more information on sales tax:

Mesa County Logo with Text  Follow Us On  
Facebook Icon   Twitter Icon   Email Icon 
        Mesa County Home           Comments/Feedback          Copyright/Disclaimer/Privacy           Webmaster