Contact Information
544 Rood Avenue
Grand Junction, CO 81501

Mailing Address
Department 5010
P.O. Box 20,000
Grand Junction, CO 81502-5001

(970) 244-1800

Janet Rowland

Mesa County Commissioner Janet Rowland District 3  District 3
In Office Since January of 2021
Current Term Expires January of 2025
Phone:  (970) 244-1606 

Commissioner Janet Rowland has three decades of experience looking for ways to build community partnerships to solve problems, especially for the most vulnerable. She has a history of prioritizing collaboration and cooperation, welcoming different points of view, and valuing inclusivity and equity.

Janet’s extensive experience and dedication to public service have given her a strong understanding of the issues that are critical in protecting the quality of life in Mesa County.

Janet previously served as a Mesa County Commissioner from 2005 to 2013. During her term-limited tenure, she worked to make sure county funds were spent wisely, focused on community solutions, and fought to protect our community’s most vulnerable.

Through Janet’s continuous work in child abuse prevention, she has helped develop organizations across the nation to recruit and support foster families.

Now in 2021, as the elected Mesa County Commissioner for District 3, Janet will continue to advocate for children in need, hard-working families, and economic growth.


Please click on the title to view additional information

In addition to serving as a Commissioner, Rowland currently represents the county on the following boards and commissions:

  • 2023 Chair of the Board of Mesa County Commissioners
  • Colorado Counties, Inc. (CCI) Justice & Public Safety, Health & Human Services
  • Colorado Child Abuse Prevention Council
  • Colorado Opioid Abatement Council
  • Community Corrections Board
  • Community Services Block Grant - Tri-Partite Board (Health Dept)
  • Criminal Justice Advisory Committee
  • Mesa County Regional Opioid Board
  • Child Welfare Allocation Committee (CWAC) 
    2010 - 2012

  • Workforce Allocation Committee (WAC)
    2009 — 2012

  • Prevent Child Abuse Colorado
    2007 – 2014
    Founding Board Member And Board President

  • National Association Of Counties
    2005 — 2013
    Human Services Steering Committee, Member

  • Colorado State Meth Task Force
    2007 — 2012
    Board Member

  • Mesa County Meth Task Force
    2005 — 2013

  • The Parenting Place
    1998 — 2006
    Co-Founder And Board President

  • Mesa County Child Sexual Abuse Task Force
    1995 — 1996