Sales Tax Information from Financial Services
Understanding Sales Tax in our County
The Colorado Department of Revenue administers Mesa County sales tax. In order to submit sales taxes to Mesa County, a business must obtain a sales tax license from the State of Colorado and file sales tax returns directly to the State of Colorado through the Revenue Online website.
When a business sells retail tangible personal property within the County or has a point of delivery within Mesa County, it is required to collect State, County, and Public Safety Improvement sales tax (total of 5.27%). City, town, or special district sales taxes may apply as well and the business should determine the method of collection for each applicable jurisdiction.
Mesa County recognizes tax-exempt status for any organization with an approved Certificate of Exemption for Colorado State Sales/Use Tax (form DR 0160).
Sales Tax Rates and Helpful Links
Mesa County 2.0%
Public Safety Improvement .37%
State of Colorado 2.9%
As of July 1, 2023 retail sales tax within the limits of the City of Grand Junction is 8.66 cents per one dollar. The City of Grand Junction as a home rule city collects sales tax directly from businesses. Sales Tax in unincorporated Mesa County is 5.27 cents per one dollar. The State retains 2.9 cents per one dollar and distributes the 2.37 cents per one dollar to the County. Of that 2.37 cents per one dollar, 1 cent goes to the General Fund, .45 cents goes to the Capital Fund, .55 cents is distributed to the Cities and other municipalities in the County, .31 cents goes to county law enforcement functions, and .06 is distributed to public safety districts throughout the County.